Immigration Office Gaddachauki Mahendranagar

Nepal Immigration has been organized to regulate the movements of foreigners into, within and from Nepal. Similarly, the movements of Nepali national from and into Nepal are within its domain. The Department of Immigration (DOI) and Immigration Offices (IO) were established for the regulation of the movements of foreigners and Nepali nationals. These institutions are set up under the organizational hierarchy of the Ministry of Home Affairs/ Government of Nepal (GON).  

The Department of Immigration is located at the capital city Kathmandu of Nepal. One Immigration Office is located at Tribhuvan international Airport in Kathmandu and one is in Pokhara (Kaski). However, Six Immigration Offices are located at southern border point with India viz. Kakarbhitta (Jhapa), Birgunj(Parsa), Belhia (Bhairahawa), Nepalgunj (Banke), Gadda Chauki (Kailali) and Mehendranagar respectively from east to west of Nepal. Two Immigration Offices Tatopani (Sindhupalchowk) and Rashuwagadi (Rashuwa) are located at the northern border point with China. 

Legal Regime

Nepal Immigration is operationalized under the following legal instruments:

 1. Immigration Act, 2049 BS

2. Immigration Rules, 2051 BS

3. Immigration Procedure, 2065 


The Immigration Acts, the Immigration Rules, and the Immigration Procedures have the followings dispensation for the regulation of the movements of foreigners and Nepali nationals into and from Nepal.

A. Department of Immigration

 a) Tourist Visa Extension

b) Non Tourist Visa (Business, Study, Marriage, working and Residential)

c) Trekking Permits

d) Authentication of arrival and departure

d) Criminalization on violation of immigration laws 

B. Immigration Office

 a) On arrival Tourist Visa

b) Arrival Registration

c) Departure Registration 


Location: Kalikasthan, Dillibazar, Kathmandu.

Tel : 977 – 1 – 4429659 / 4429660

4438862 / 4438868

Fax : 977 – 1 – 4433934/4433935

Email :,

Web :


Office Hours

Sunday to Thursday:

10 a.m. – 17 p.m. in summer

10 a.m. – 16 p.m. in winter (Nov. to Jan.)

Friday: 10 a.m. -15 p.m. 


Visa Application Hours

Sunday to Thursday: 10 a.m. – 15 p.m.

Friday: 10 a.m. – 13 p.m.